Malaysia Exam Grading System: 2023 Ultimate Guide

Filed in Education by on May 6, 2023 0 Comments

The Malaysia Exam Grading System is based on a numeric scale of 0 to 100. In general, a score of 60 and above is considered passing, while a score below 60 is failing. However, different exams and subjects may have varying passing grades.

For example, the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM), which is a public examination taken by students at the end of secondary school, requires a minimum pass grade of 40 in each subject to receive a certificate. The SPM grades are determined by a bell curve, which means that the score distribution of all candidates is taken into account when determining the grades.

For pre-university exams such as the A-levels and the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, grades are based on a points system. Students receive points for each subject and the final grade is determined by adding up all the points.

Overall, the grading system in Malaysia aims to assess students’ knowledge and skills fairly and accurately, and to provide them.

Malaysia Exam Grading System

Malaysia Exam Grading System

The method of grading utilized for assessments in Malaysia differs based on the educational level and the nature of the test.

Primary and secondary education

In Malaysia, the prevalent grading system for primary and secondary education is the letter grading system. This system encompasses grades ranging from A+ (outstanding) to G (unsatisfactory). The following is a detailed overview of Malaysia’s letter grading system.

The most commonly employed grading system in primary and secondary education is the letter grading system, which incorporates a scale that varies from A+ (remarkable) to G (unacceptable). A summary of Malaysia’s letter grading system is provided below.

  • 90-100 marks is classified as A+, while A is given for 80-89 marks, and A- for 75-79 marks.

  • B+ is awarded for scores between 70-74, B for 65-69 marks, and B- for 60-64 marks.

  • C+ is assigned to those who earn 55-59 marks and C is for 50-54 marks.

  • D is for 40-49 marks

  • E is for 30-39 marks,

  • G, which is equivalent to a fail, is for those who score 0-29 marks.

Malaysia Higher Education Grading System

The GPA system is utilized for advanced education programs, including diploma and degree courses. This system involves assigning numerical values to letter grades and calculating the average of all the grades obtained. The following is a summary of the GPA framework utilized in Malaysia:

  • An A+ grade is equivalent to a 4.00, while an A grade is also a 4.00.
  • An A- grade is equivalent to a 3.67, while a B+ grade is a 3.33.
  • B grade is equivalent to a 3.00, while a B- grade is a 2.67.
  • C+ grade is equivalent to a 2.33, while a C grade is a 2.00.
  • D grade is a 1.00, while an E grade and
  • G grade signal failure and have a 0.00 value.

It is important to keep in mind that grading methods may differ slightly among educational institutions, thus it is advisable to seek guidance from your school or university to verify their particular grading system.

To obtain further details about the Exam Grading System of Malaysia, please refer to the official website at

General meaning Of Exam Grading System

Typically, grading an exam involves assigning a numerical or letter-based score to each question or section. The final score is then calculated based on the total number of points or percentage of correct answers.

The grading system aims to provide an unbiased and uniform way of evaluating individuals’ performance in the subject matter.

Additionally, it helps to measure and compare the performance of different groups or individuals who have taken the same exam. This way, exams can be evaluated consistently and fairly.

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.