Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023 Fixtures, table standing.

7 Min Read
Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023 Fixtures, table standing.

The Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023 Fixtures, table standings, Rwanda Premier League, Premier League of Rwanda, Ligue Premier de Rwanda, Primus National Football League, Azam Rwanda Premier League.


Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023

Clubs Participating in Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023.

Armée Patriotique Rwandaise Football Club (APR FC or APR) is a football club from Kigali in Rwanda. The club plays its home games at Amahoro Stadium. The club was founded in June 1993 as the team of the Rwandese Patriotic Front.

Despite their short history, they are the most powerful and intimidating club in the Rwandan football league and the Federation is always under Army so they can run behind curtains, have been paying Fans and media, and so on, they have won seventeen Rwandan league titles and seven Rwandan Cups and also the CECAFA Clubs Cup in 2004, 2007 and 2010 after ending up as losing finalists in that competition in 1996 and 2000.

A.S. Kigali Football Club is a Rwandan football club from Kigali. They play their home games at Kigali Stadium located in Nyamirambo. Established in 1999, the team plays in the Rwandan Premier League. AS Kigali has won the Rwandan Cup two times and the Rwandan Super Cup two times.


Rayon Sports Football Club is an association football club from Nyanza, Southern Province, Rwanda, now based in Kigali. The team currently competes in the Rwanda National Football League and plays its home games at the Stade Amahoro in Kigali and Kigali Stadium, Nyamirambo.

(Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023)

For some years, its daily operations were held in the southern province of Nyanza District. They’ve won 9 Rwandan Premier League titles, the 2nd most Premier League titles. Throughout its history, the club has won 9 Rwandan Cups, 1 CECAFA Clubs’ Cup, 9 Peace Cups, 3 Agaciro Cups, 2 Intwali Cups, a Kigali 100 Years’ Cup, and 1 Father Fraipont Memorial tournament. The Blues of Rwanda are said to have more than 80% of Football fans in the country, which makes it the most popular team in Rwanda and the only competent citizen-owned club in the country of a thousand hills

2022-2023 Rwanda Premier League Table Standings


Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023 Fixtures

Bugesera 13:00 APR
Mukura 13:00 AS Kigali
September 13, 2022
Etincelles 13:00 Sunrise
Gasogi United 13:00 Bugesera
APR 16:30 Police
September 14, 2022
AS Kigali 13:00 Musanze
Rayon Sports 16:30 Rwamagana City
September 15, 2022
Espoir 13:00 Mukura
Gorilla 13:00 Kiyovu Sports
Rutsiro 13:00 Marine

(Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023)

October 1, 2022

Police 13:00 Gasogi United
Mukura 13:00 Gorilla
Marine 13:00 Rayon Sports
Bugesera 13:00 Etincelles
Kiyovu Sports 13:00 Sunrise
October 2, 2022
Rutsiro 13:00 AS Kigali
Rwamagana City 13:00 APR
Musanze 13:00 Espoir
October 11, 2022
Rayon Sports 16:00 AS Kigali


About the Rwanda Premier League

The top football league in Rwanda is called the Premier League. In 1975, the league was established. In 2004, 2009–2010, and 2012–2013(Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023), it was known as the Primus National Football League; Turbo King then assumed sponsorship.

As a result of Tanzanian television broadcasters Azam TV being announced as sponsors in a deal worth US $2.35 million over five years, the league was renamed the Azam Rwanda Premier League for the 2015–16 season. Azam TV announced the termination of its agreement with Rwanda FA, effective with the 2019–2020 season.

The league is played in the Republic of Rwanda.



Rwanda, or the Republic of Rwanda, is a landlocked nation in Central Africa’s Great Rift Valley, where the Southeast African continent and the African Great Lakes region meet. Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo all border Rwanda, which is a few degrees south of the equator.

                                  Rwanda Premier League
Organizing body Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA)
Founded 1975; 47 years ago
Country Rwanda
Confederation CAF
Number of teams 16
Level on pyramid 1
Relegation to Rwanda Second Division
Domestic cup(s) Rwandan Cup
Rwandan Super Cup
International cup(s) CAF Champions League
CAF Confederation Cup
Current champions APR (20th title)
Most championships APR (20 titles)
TV partners RTV Magic Sports TV StarTimes
Website ferwafa. RW

Rwanda Premier League 2022-2023

The previous champions of the Rwanda Premier League

The previous champions of the Rwanda Premier League were,

  • 1969 : Kiyovu Sports (Kigali)
  • 1971 : Kiyovu Sports (Kigali)
  • 1975 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 1976–79: unknown
  • 1980 : Panthères Noires (Kigali)
  • 1981 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 1982: no championship
  • 1983 : Kiyovu Sports (Kigali)
  • 1984 : Panthères Noires (Kigali)
  • 1985 : Panthères Noires (Kigali)
  • 1986 : Panthères Noires (Kigali)
  • 1987 : Panthères Noires (Kigali)
  • 1988 : Mukungwa (Ruhengeri)
  • 1989 : Mukungwa (Ruhengeri)
  • 1990–91: no championship
  • 1992 : Kiyovu Sports (Kigali)
  • 1993 : Kiyovu Sports (Kigali)
  • 1994–95 : APR (Kigali)
  • 1996: APR (Kigali)
  • 1997 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 1998 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 1999: APR (Kigali)
  • 2000: APR (Kigali)
  • 2001: APR (Kigali)
  • 2002 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 2003: APR (Kigali)
  • 2004 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 2005: APR (Kigali)
  • 2006: APR (Kigali)
  • 2006–07 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2007–08 : ATRACO (Kigali)
  • 2008–09 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2009–10 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2010–11 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2011–12 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2012–13 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 2013–14 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2014–15 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2015–16 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2016–17 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 2017–18 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2018–19 : Rayon Sports (Nyanza)
  • 2019–20 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2020–21 : APR (Kigali)
  • 2021–22 : APR (Kigali)

The Rwanda Premium League Champions Club’s performance

Club City Titles Last Title
APR Kigali 19 2021
Rayon Sports Nyanza 9 2019
Panthères Noires Kigali 5 1987
Kiyovu Sports Kigali 6 1993
Mukungwa Ruhengeri 2 1989
ATRACO Kigali 1 2008


The Rwanda Premium League: Top Scorers

Season Player Club Goals
2001 Luleuti Kyayuna APR 9
2002 n/a n/a n/a
2003 Milly APR 12
2004 Rwanda Abed Mulenda
Rwanda Olivier Karekezi
Rayon Sports
2005 Rwanda Jimmy Gatete APR 13
2006 Rwanda André Lomami APR 13
2006–07 Democratic Republic of the Congo Alabama Bokota Rayon Sports 14
2007–08 n/a n/a n/a
2008–09 Rwanda Jean Lomami ATRACO 12
2011–12 Rwanda Olivier Karekezi APR 14
2019–20 Rwanda Samson Babua Sunrise F.C. 15


Clubs Participated in the 2021–22 season

Team Location
APR Kigali
AS Kigali Kigali
Bugesera Nyamata
Espoir Cyangugu
Etincelles Gisenyi
Étoile de l’Est Kigali
Gasogi United Kigali
Gicumbi Byumba
Gorilla Kigali
Kiyovu Sports Kigali
Marines Gisenyi
Mukura Victory Butare
Musanze Ruhengeri
Police Kigali
Rayon Sports Nyanza
Rutsiro Kigali

As Mishanga and Sunrise FC were demoted from the Premier League, while Étoile de l’Est and Gicumbi FC were promoted from the Second Division.

Share this Article
Leave a comment